Home                                                                                                                                  Light Praise Stream

Home - FAQ - Search - Memberlist - Usergroups - Register - Profile - Log in to check your private messages - Log in
Christian spammer:bob@westburysales.com

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Webservant.us Forum Index -> Web Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dldeskins



Joined: 28 Dec 2003
Posts: 128
Location: NE TN

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 6:54 pm    Post subject: Christian spammer:bob@westburysales.com Reply with quote

hey, I don't know where else to put this so I'll put it here.

I have been getting several emails from some guy that insists that I need to do business with him. Man, I hate this... especially when he calls himself a Christian.

One thing, he puts his email address in the spam: bob@westburysales.com

edited with the right address


Last edited by dldeskins on Wed May 04, 2005 9:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PjLguy
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 352
Location: Syosset, NY

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Their website sells cars?

No hint of christianity on their website. Nor his particular email address. Maybe you could email the contact listed on the website to inquire about that?
_________________
Peter J. Louie
Assorted Christian Media!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
dldeskins



Joined: 28 Dec 2003
Posts: 128
Location: NE TN

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Embarassed

I put the wrong address in.... it should be bob@westburysales.com
_________________
Don Deskins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PjLguy
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 352
Location: Syosset, NY

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeh, there is only so much that you can do if he runs the website.

He claims to be a Christian.... that reminds me of the verse.

"For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evils. It is through this craving that some have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many pangs." - 1 Timothy 6:10
_________________
Peter J. Louie
Assorted Christian Media!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
carrot



Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 70
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just started getting stuff from this guy to.

One email was from netbob4churches@westburysales.com "This is Bob Westbury with NetBob4Churches."

The other, from praise-him.org@westburysales.com "http://www.Praise-Him.org has Christian backing tracks, Christian songbooks, Christian CD's and Christian DVDs. most items at less than RRP with free P&P for all orders in the UK"

There are a couple of interesting lines in the header of the emails:
X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
Code:

X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - server.profithosting4u.com
X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - toongabbieanglican.org
X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [32009 32011] / [47 12]
X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - server.profithosting4u.com


Go to profithosting4u.com, and there is a link to http://www.websitesbybob.com/... so it looks like Bob is one big SPAM machine.

Looking through whois stuff, I couldn't find anything that really tied back to a server provider in order to submit an abuse report.
_________________
Personal Site · Toongabbie Anglican Church
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
carrot



Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 70
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update:

I sent an email to praise-him.org, and received this very good reply:

"I am extremely sorry and embarrased, thanks for the warning. Having checked,
I think you are right. Can hardly beieve I was taken in like that. I have
asked him to stop - whether or not he will I have no idea."
_________________
Personal Site · Toongabbie Anglican Church
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dldeskins



Joined: 28 Dec 2003
Posts: 128
Location: NE TN

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

carrot,

Thanks for the update. I finally set my filters on the host to weed him out.
_________________
Don Deskins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
John Kenyon



Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bob Westbury, in my three year affiliation with him, is an honest man. He is the Webmaster for The Institute For Global Church Studies. He has provided quality service above and beyond the call of duty. I recommend him.

John Kenyon, Director
The Institute For Global Church Studies
PO Box 1024
Aguada, PR USA 00602
www.igcsforum.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Webservant.us Forum Index -> Web Development All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB
Appalachia Theme © 2002 Droshi's Island

Sponsored by: PJLDomains.comPJLHosting.com / Im4God.org
Contributors: 3000+ sermons at SermonIndex.net / Logo by FlairForDesign.com